Restricted Access to Habersham County Facilities and Programs

Habersham Co. - Habersham County continues to take steps in response to the unprecedented Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic to help stop the spread of the virus while ensuring essential government services continue to operate.

As of 12:00 noon on March 24, 2020, there are no reported positive presumptive positive COVID-19 cases in Habersham County. The Georgia Department of Public Health has a daily status report map updated at 12 noon and 7 p.m. That report can be accessed at

Habersham County is restricting or discontinuing access to most public buildings:
        1) Courthouse: operations have been scaled back to minimize non-essential visits;
        2) Administration Building: The Elections and Voter Registration office is open for voter registration; all other departments have limited public access to lobby areas only (unless there is an appointment) with a minimum of two people allowed in any lobby at a time. Handwashing before entering the Administration Building is required;
        3) Habersham County Detention Center: access to their lobby is allowed at any time, handwashing before entering is required;
        4) All Other Public Buildings: visitors must call ahead to request access.

County employees are reporting to work as usual and are available by telephone and email.

Certain field workers such as building inspectors, code enforcement officers, and animal control officers who perform duties outside of their assigned offices are limiting public contact, and social distancing is being practiced by all County employees. We encourage the public to use online resources, where available, for payments and other business during this time.

Habersham's Facilities Management and Emergency Services Departments are using Bioesque Solution to disinfect all public access County buildings and County vehicles including ambulances, patrol cars, transit vehicles, public works vehicles, etc.

If anyone has further questions, they may contact the Habersham County Administrative/Commission Office at 706-839-0200.