No Change After HD 28 Recount

ATLANTA - Yesterday, Georgia Secretary of State Robyn Crittenden directed the superintendents of Habersham, Stephens, and Banks Counties to recount all of the ballots cast in Georgia House District 28 contest held on December 4, 2018 as requested by Dan Gasaway.  After the recount, no votes were changed, and Chris Erwin still has a two vote lead and remains the winner of the seat.

Gasaway, who trailed by two votes after all votes had been counted in the election, had stated before that there were illegal votes allowed in Habersham county during the redo election, specifically claiming that one voter did not live at their listed address, and another was not registered.  After the count of provisional ballots, he acknowledged that he would wait to see the outcome of the recount before he considered any additional action.