NGTC Recognizes Employees With Outstanding Years of Service

North Georgia Technical College President, Dr. Mark Ivester, recently presented employee service awards recognizing those who have given distinguished years of service to NGTC and the Technical College System of Georgia. 

Five-year service employees include Teri Aurora, Terry Brown, Rebekah Franklin, Lydia Wilkinson and Deneen Winkler.  

Janet Lovell, Dorothy Mayfield, Samantha Marchant, Jo-E Saylor and Ida-Lynn Wallace were all recognized for 20 years with North Georgia Tech.

The first ever NGTC Staff Recognition Award was presented to Dining Hall Manager Vickie Brown. This award recognizes staff members who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the work place and department. Nominees must also have made contributions to the “spirit of the community” and promote an atmosphere of collaboration and cooperation while taking initiative in their area of expertise. 

When presenting the award, NGTC President Dr. Mark Ivester shared “they say food is the way to a person’s heart, and that home is where the heart is. Vickie makes sure all our students are considered and ensures they always have food that makes them feel at home. Dorm students even often refer to her as mom. Vickie is incredibly deserving of this award.” 

Other nominees included Kristie Gibbs, Christy Gosnell, Teina Lovvorn, Dorothy Mayfield, Tiffany Scroggs, Heidi Tapley and Jason Turpen. 

North Georgia Technical College is the first technical college in the state of Georgia, and is part of the Technical College System of Georgia. Its main campus is in Clarkesville, with additional campuses in Toccoa and Blairsville. For more information, visit or call 706-754-7700.

Above Picture:
Top: Employee Service Staff Recognition Award nominees were, from left, Teina Lovvorn, Dorothy Mayfield, Heidi Tapley, Tiffany Scroggs, Christy Gosnell, Kristie Gibbs, Vickie Brown (winner) and Jason Turpen. 

Bottom: Employee Service Award recipients were, from left, Deneen Winkler, Rebekah Franklin, Teri Aurora, Ida-Lynn Wallace, Dorothy Mayfield and Dr. Mark Ivester.

Not pictured are Terry Brown, Lydia Wilkinson, Janet Lovell, Samantha Marchant and Jo-E Saylor.