Habersham County Board of Education Elects New Chairman

Habersham Co. -  Habersham County elected a new Chairman for the 2020 year.

Russ Nelson was elected as the Board of Education Chairman for the 2020 school year. 

Nelson has served in previous years but will take the seat formerly held by Dr. Robert Barron. 

“I look forward to it,” Nelson tells WCHM. “I enjoy being with my colleagues, I think we always try to do what’s best for the students and I’m looking forward to a great school year.” 

When asked about his goals as newly elected Chairman, Nelson tells WCHM “We’re going to work this year on updating our strategic plan, which has a lot of different goals for the system that we’ll be working on. It’s kind of a five-year plan, so we’re going to start working on that in the upcoming months.”

Nelson continued, saying “We’re going to try to keep excelling like we are. Our scores are better than ever, our graduation rates are higher than ever, so we’re going to build on that. I think with Mr. Cooper’s leadership, we should be able to do that.”

Doug Westmoreland was also elected as Vice Chairman and Jennifer Thacker was elected to serve as the board attorney.

Photo provided by Habersham County Schools website